The made up garden

I have a very cobbled together garden. The veg patch gets too much shade and the neighbourhood cats like to use it as a toilet (leading me to punctuate the earth with random sticks in an attempt to make it uninviting to their paws/bottoms).Vegetable patch

But I do love my garden. It’s a good place for sitting with a cup of tea and watching the washing dry in the sun. And in the height of summer there will be greens and tomatoes, alpine strawberries and the buzz of bees everywhere. It lets me be outdoors and grow things and swear at cats (I love cats really) and get dirty fingernails and just make things up as I go along.

For example…

Today’s top 5 uses for the empty veg box crates I keep forgetting to put out to be collected by the veg box delivery person:

1. Petite shed for garden hand tools

2. Pedestal to create backdoor window box effect

IMG_1780

3. Trough for growing greens (nasturtiums and mixed lettuces perhaps?)

Growing box

4. Table for seed modules (dwarf sunflower and calendula)

Seed modules

5. Mini utility room greenhouse for germinating chillies, tomatoes, basil and lovage

Germinating seeds in utility room

 

2 thoughts on “The made up garden”

  1. Love to see you writing again! Terry, too, has started his garden. I’m glad. Eating tomato sandwiches at lunch for 6 months lowered our cholesterol substantially last year. I see Ralphie using it as a litter, but what else is he to think? Ralphie believes everything in our yard was planned and arranged for him! I’m glad you enjoy gardening. I hope work is going well, too.

Leave a Reply

